Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Advanced Game Theory

Advanced Game Theory
type: Lecture
semester: WS 16/17
place:

10.91 Grashof, Altes Maschinenbaugebäude

time:

Thu: 5:30 - 7:00 p.m., weekly

lecturer:

Prof. Dr. Nora Szech, Prof. Dr. Karl-Martin Ehrhart, Prof. Dr. Johannes Brumm

ects: 4,5
lv-no.: 2521533

This course offers the opportunity to deepen the understanding of cooperative and non-cooperative game theory. Both of the subjects find regular use in current research. Cooperative game theory is used, for example, to get a better understanding of markets.

The course will be divided into three parts. In the first part, Prof Johannes Brumm will give an introduction to advanced non-cooperative game theory. (This part will take place from October 27 to November 17.)
The second part will be on cooperative game theory and is presented by Prof. Karl-Martin Ehrhart who applies those methods to practice. (This part will take place from November 24 to December 15 and will be held in German.)
The last part will take place in January and February and will treat advanced non-cooperative game theory. Prof. Nora Szech whose research in non-cooperative game theory is mostly focused on the design of institutions and markets will also refer to current research topics if there is time.

The course allows for a broad perspective on the two fundamental branches of game theory:
cooperative and non-cooperative game theory. The aim of this course is to obtain a profound understanding of the treated subjects and to be lead to current research questions. Therefore, prior knowledge about the topics treated in the introductory course on game theory (“Einführung in die Spieltheorie”) is helpful. (Participants who attended the course on “Auctions and Mechanism Design” will also have sufficient knowledge on game theory to successfully participate in the course.)
Additionally, this course offers the opportunity to get to know three professors of the ECON institute.

Please note that the course will be held partially in English and partially in German. The exam can be taken in both languages.

If you have any questions please contact Michael Müller (
michael.mueller@kit.edu). Please find further information in the Ilias course.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Advanced Game Theory

Advanced Game Theory
Typ: Vorlesung (V)
Semester: WS 16/17
Ort:

10.91 Grashof, Altes Maschinenbaugebäude

Zeit:

Do: 17:30 - 19:00 Uhr, der Kurs beginnt am 27. Oktober 2016

Dozent:

Prof. Dr. Nora Szech, Prof. Dr. Johannes Brumm, Prof. Dr. Karl-Martin Ehrhart

ECTS: 4,5
LVNr.: 2521533

Dieser Kurs behandelt sowohl die kooperative als auch die nicht-kooperative Spieltheorie. Beide Bereiche finden vielseitige Anwendung in der aktuellen Forschung. Letztere wird beispielsweise gerne genutzt um Märkte umfassender zu verstehen.

Der Kurs ist in drei Teile aufgegliedert. Der erste Teil gibt einen Einstieg in die fortgeschrittene nicht-kooperative Spieltheorie. Professor Johannes Brumm wird diesen im wöchentlichen Turnus im Zeitraum vom 27.Oktober bis zum 17.November abhalten.
Der anschließende Teil fokussiert sich auf die kooperative Spieltheorie. Prof. Karl-Martin Ehrhart der mit diesen Methoden unter anderem auch im Market Consulting arbeitet wird diesen Teil anschließend vom 24.November bis zum 15. Dezember lesen.
Der letzte Teil der Vorlesung wird im neuen Jahr stattfinden. Dort werden spezifische Themen der fortgeschrittenen nicht-kooperativen Spieltheorie behandelt. Dieser Teil wird von Prof. Nora Szech gelesen, die sich innerhalb der nicht-kooperativen Spieltheorie in ihrer Forschung insbesondere mit Markt- und Institutionendesign befasst. Wenn es die Zeit erlaubt, wird sie auch aktuelle Forschung zu diesem Thema besprechen.

Der Kurs ermöglicht eine breite Perspektive auf die beiden fundamentalen Grundlagen der Spieltheorie: die kooperative und die nicht-kooperative Spieltheorie. Die Zielsetzung des Kurses beinhaltet eine tiefgehende Bearbeitung der behandelten Themen und eine Heranführung an aktuelle Forschungsfragen. Hierfür werden Kenntnisse aus der Vorlesung „Einführung in die Spieltheorie“ vorausgesetzt. (Teilnehmer die „Auctions and Mechanism Design“ gehört haben, werden vermutlich ebenfalls genug spieltheoretische Vorkenntnisse haben um den Kurs erfolgreich zu besuchen.)
Der Kurs bietet zudem die Möglichkeit gleich drei ECON Professoren kennenzulernen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Kurs teilweise auf englisch und teilweise auf deutsch gehalten wird. Die Klausur kann in beiden Sprachen abgelegt werden.

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an Michael Müller (michael.mueller@kit.edu). Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch im Ilias-Kurs.